Speakers at our Recent Seminar in Hyderabad

"Towards A Sustainable and Affordable Power Sector"
(Hyderabad - Oct. 12-13,2015)


1000 hrs

Inauguration by HE the Governor of Andhra Pradesh and Telangana

Sub Topic and Speakers

Sessions: Time Chairs & Speakers Subject
1130 hrs
Working Session 1
Issues relating to Viability of Power
Sector: Constraints and
Sri Pradeep Kumar Pujari, IAS Union Power
Secretary  (Chair)
Shri R.P. Singh,
Chairman, Board of Governors, IIT, Guwahati
An overall view of the Power Sector and its Constraints and Options.
Shri A.K. Jha,
State of Thermal Power in the Present Context and Way Ahead
Shri Khurshid Ganai,
Chairman Bureau of Public Enterprises, Govt. of
Optimum Utilisation of Available Resources in Hilly States
Shri I.S. Jha Overall National Grid Development: Constraints and Options
Shri Sanjay Reddy,
Vice Chairman, GVK group
Harnessing Private Sector Potential in Development of Power Sector
Shri Ashish Basu,
President (Corporate Functions) GMR Group
Harnessing Private Sector Potential in Development of Power Sector
Shri Ajay Bhardwaj,
President & Business Head, Sterlite Power Grid
Ventures Limited
PPP model in Transmission Industry – The journey so far and Way Forward
1430 hrs
Working Session 2
Power Sector in Telangana
Shri B.V. Papa Rao,
Advisor to CM, Telangana (Chair)
Shri Narsing Rao, IAS
Principal Secretary to CM
Shri Prabhakar Rao,
Chairman, Transco & Genco
Shri Raghuma Reddy,
Chairman, Southern Distribution Company
1530 hrs
Working Session 3
Power Sector: Social Aspects,
Sustainability & Affordability
Shri P.C. Haldar,
President, PPF(Chair)
Shri Arvind Kumar, IAS
Principal Secretary Power, Govt. of Telangana
Social Strategy of Power Sector in Telangana
Shri Guru Malladi,
Partner & leader-advisory services (Govt. & Public Sector) at EY
Potential of Smart Grid & Renewables in Context of Sustainable, Reliable
and Affordable Power by All
Shri Shantanu Dixit, Coordinator, Prayas (Energy Group), Pune
0930 hrs
Working Session 4
Generation, Transmission and
Distribution of Power: Vision,
Constraints and Options
Shri Ajay Shankar,
Former Secretary, Govt. of India (Chair)
Shri Rakesh Nath,
Former Chairman, Central Electricity Authority
Overall Power Generation Scenario: Constraints and Options
Ms. Seema Gupta
Overall Power Transmission Scenario: Constraints and Options
Shri Murali Ranganathan
Ex-CEO, Torrent Power
Overalll Power Distribution Scenario: Constraints and Options
Shri M.Y. Khan,
Chairman, Chenab Valley Development Authority,
Constraints and Options for Power Sector with Focus on State of J&K
including Financing of Power Projects.
Shri Sanjay Reddy,
Vice Chairman, GVK group
Harnessing Private Sector Potential in Development of Power Sector
Shri Sanjay Malhotra, IAS
Principal Secretary to Govt. of Rajasthan, Energy
Rajasthan’s experiences in Power Sector: Best Practices
Shri Deepak Amitabh
CMD, Power Trading Corporation
Power Trading Scenario in India and its Future
1130 hrs Tea Break Tea Break
1200 hrs
Working Session 5
Issues relating to Regulation of Power
Shri Gireesh B. Pradhan
Chairman, CERC
Shri Vishvanath Hiremath
Chairman, Rajasthan Electricity Regulatory Commission
Shri V.S. Ailawadi
Former Chairman, Haryana Electricity
Regulaatory Commission, Presently Chief
Mentor – Corporate and Regulatory Affairs, Tata
Teleservices Limited
Shri Bhaskar
1330 hrs to 1430 hrs Lunch Lunch
1430 hrs
Working Session 6
Renewable Energy: Constraints &
Shri Upendra Tripathy, IAS
Secretary, Ministry of New and Renewable
Energy, GoI (Chair)
Dr. Arunabha Ghosh
CEO, Council on Energy, Environment and Water (CEEW)
Shri Pankaj Kumar Pandey, IAS
Shri P.P. Gupta
MD, Techno Electric & Engineering Company Ltd.
Shri Prem Pankaj,
Shri K Vijaya Kumar
Chief Operating Officer
BPL Techno Vision

1800 hrs

Valedictory Address by Hon’ble Chief Minister of Telangana